A Modern Life

Well – I am cleaning up my hard drive and found this poem that I wrote in honor of my Vovo for her memorial service. I had forgot about the title.

So to honor one Modern Lady to another . . .

 

 

 

A Modern Life…

by Julia Marie Day

 

I was a modern child…

I have seen the old country – the small farm house with the dirt floors.

I was drawn to the to the excitement of the new world;

opportunity, America.

I was a modern girl…

I was not passive about my lot in life.

I did not have to accept all that was given,

but instead, sought out the best life had to offer

I was a modern woman…

I fell in love with a handsome young musician.

I would blush at that smile of his,

the one that made me tingle.

I was a modern wife…

I helped support my husband and my family.

I worked long days,

I had a career that my children were proud of.

I was a modern mother…

I knew what was best for my children,

I knew that they had to discover life for themselves;

just as I had.

I was a modern grandmother…

I helped my grandchildren expand their experience and their minds,

I gave them wisdom through stories of my youth;

not by telling them “no”.

I was a modern great-grandmother…

I delighted in seeing my grandchildren bear heirs.

I was blessed with their small words of

“Love Vovo”

She was indeed a modern lady…

Her time was one that we can only dream about.

Just imagine having come to America, lived through two wars and a depression,

and experienced a woman’s right to vote.

She was a loving matriarch…

She was our Friend, our Mother, and our Vovo;

Her heart was sincere and her love for each of us was dear.

For she left you always with a pat on the hand and said,

“All the best to you, all the best to you my dear.”

 

About julia

Modern Art Quilter Funky Designer Fiber Art'er Dog Lover
This entry was posted in General Mayhem and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Modern Life

  1. What a lovely tribute!

Leave a Reply

