Hibiscus Flower

This small quilt is 18×20 inches

The inspiration of this quilt came from one of my photographs of a Hibiscus flower.

 

 

I always have my camera or iPhone.  I take a lot of pictures. This way I can delete the bad ones.  It took me a long time to get comfortable with digital media.  Just remember to periodically download and save your pictures!  Last year, I lost our camera at the Grand Tetons National Forest.  Luckily I lost very few family pictures.  I had spent a couple of Saturday afternoons downloading our photos.

 

How to get the Look:

The design is hand painted on white PFD muslin. When painting on fabric, I work from lightest to darkest colors.  This lets me build the detail and dimension slowly.  Remember!  you can always make it darker.  You can’t go backwards to make it lighter!

I did the basic quilting on small domestic machine.  After the quilting was complete both bead & thread embroidery embellishments were added.

 

About julia

Modern Art Quilter Funky Designer Fiber Art'er Dog Lover
Gallery | This entry was posted in Quilt Pictures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

