Habitat Progress (8-22-11)

Time for a progress update.  I have cut out all my fabric and shapes.  At this point, nothing is fused to the fabric.  The black background it more to keep all the parts in one place versus the final back-drop.

Tonight, I will begin to move the parts around to achieve the look I want.  I consider this phase full of design opportunity.  Nothing is permanent, so I try to take the time to live with the look.  I do this by leaving the studio for a few minutes to a couple of hours.  The fresh view you have when you come back into the room can help you with color or balance issues.  It is a valuable tool to edit your work.

I won’t cut anything else out until I have a good idea where all the parts will be placed.  This let’s me specifically target shape/size/color for certain areas of the piece.

I never throw scraps away until I am completely done with a project.  You never know what little parts you may need until after you have thrown them out.

About julia

Modern Art Quilter Funky Designer Fiber Art'er Dog Lover
This entry was posted in Fabric, Projects, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

